I was charged for work that was not complete, and was overall very disappointed with the lack of professionalism and organization at Toole's. Communication was terrible, I had to call and call to check on my classic car as Mark, the shop manager failed to call back with info as he claimed he would. Mark charged another customer for my work at one point, didn't finish the work and erroneously told me to come pick the car up, the tank was bone dry and couldn't be driven off the lot, Mark poured gas all over my car's paint while rushing to fix the previous problem. I asked for the unfinished work to be completed, and Mark told me it was too inconvenient for him to that day, and that I should come back another day. After all that I just couldn't trust that the work will be done. My classic is too valuable to trust with these knuckleheads, so I won't be back. Edit: None of the information in the owner's reply was shared with me before this, and I tried to contact him directly to try and work this out before posting. When I spoke with Mark directly, I was not offered an earlier pickup. If there was more info coming on the internet, Mark should have sent me there when we spoke or just told me. Mark told me every time we talked that the car was not ready but would be the next day, but that was never true. In fact, when we spoke I asked specific questions about pickup and our schedules to ensure my car wouldn't be there taking space any longer than needed. Mark did not share that the shifter broke during a move in the shop. I did not realize your shop broke the shifter knob until reading your reply here, I guess I assumed that somehow they needed to remove the center console when working on the dash. The electrical components your shop replaced on the dash, as Mark explained to me, were also causing the gas gauge to read incorrectly as well, so even if I brought the car in low, maybe give me a heads up before pickup that you used the rest of my gas and didn't replace it? All that plus Mark spilled the gas on the car and charged my job wrong, I felt like I couldn't trust anything that was going on, and started to question everything. It's a horrible feeling, and then to have to plead and argue to get a damn screw replaced was ridiculous.
Hey Jason, We are sorry you didn’t have a good experience with us. Our communication with online live pictures and notification of changes allowing you to see what we see is usually something people appreciate. All work that was performed here, especially what you brought it in for was completed and clean. As you may know with a classic 70’s Mopar, they are not like a car of today. Stuff happens. When we informed you that your vehicle was ready, you were unable to come and get the vehicle. We make sure the classic vehicles are stored in the shop nightly if not picked up when completed. During the 2 moves per day, a worn out specialty shifter knob set screw fell out of your shifter handle, to which we did not do any work. We informed you that it would not stay in properly and we were ordering a new screw that should arrive by the time you were able to come and get the vehicle. It did not show up by that time. The unfinished work you are referring to is your shifter screw, that fell out, and hadn’t shown up yet, and was a no charge fix. The vehicle came in with a very low fuel level, enough to run out from moving the car in and out of the shop. We tried to help with adding fuel from a plastic gas can, and yes….they leak and it can get on the car. Mark cleaned it with a soft rag and a gentle sprayer immediately. Resorting to calling the professionals at Toole's that worked with you and on your classic "knuckleheads" is not necessary. This team has worked on and constructed some of the premier classic and resto-mod vehicles in the area. I hope you find a shop that can take care of your classic car for you.
- San Carlos